Johns Hopkins releases self-study report

Dear Faculty, Students and Staff,

It has been more than two years since a universitywide committee began working on a comprehensive self-study of Johns Hopkins in preparation for its decennial reaccreditation evaluation. We are delighted to share the final report, a sweeping work that tells the story of one integrated university marshaling its distributed strengths to advance a common mission of discovery, research, and service.

The report is available here:

This report is the culmination of an enormous and largely unseen effort by a core group of university citizens led by Vice Provost Jonathan Bagger and Assistant Vice Provost Philip Tang, and supported by robust participation from each of our divisions. We are extremely grateful for the dedicated efforts of this tireless group. The steering committee, listed below, prepared its assessment with the help of self-examinations from each division, cross-divisional considerations of four key areas (faculty, educational offerings, student learning assessment, and student services), and focused analyses of our Gateway Sciences Initiative and the future of PhD education at this university.

The result is a thorough evaluation that speaks to the lofty ambitions of Johns Hopkins, our progress over the past decade, and key areas that will need our attention in the years ahead. Recommendations range from expanding the ways we assess our students’ learning to strengthening the ways data-driven decisions are guiding and disciplining the evolution of this institution.

Late last year, we shared a draft of this report and solicited your feedback and suggestions. Many of you responded by email and in-person at Town Hall meetings held across our campuses; this report is better for your input.

Next week, we will welcome to Johns Hopkins a team of volunteers from other colleges and universities sent by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. We are fortunate to have a distinguished academic leader, Dr. Thomas Rosenbaum, outgoing provost of the University of Chicago and president-elect of the California Institute of Technology, serving as chair of the evaluation team. Guided by 14 accreditation standards, this group will review the self-study report and spend three days meeting with faculty, students, and staff from across Johns Hopkins.

We want to thank the more than 100 individuals who helped us prepare for this visit over the past two years, and encourage you to take a look at this compelling story of our extraordinary university.


Ronald J. Daniels

Robert C. Lieberman
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Johns Hopkins University 2014 Reaccreditation Self-study Steering Committee

Chair: Jonathan Bagger, Krieger-Eisenhower Professor of Physics and Astronomy and vice provost for graduate and postdoctoral programs
Vice Chair: Philip Tang, assistant vice provost and accreditation liaison officer

Committee Members:
Heather Ahrens, doctoral student, School of Medicine
Martha Andrews, assistant dean for academic affairs, School of Nursing
Terry Brown, professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bloomberg School of Public Health, and representative of the Doctor of Philosophy Board
Oksana Carlson, assistant dean for education, Carey Business School
Candice Dalrymple, associate dean for university libraries and director, Center for Educational Resources
Steven David, professor, Political Science, and vice dean for undergraduate education, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, and co-chair of the Gateway Sciences Initiative Faculty Steering Committee
William Egginton, professor, German and Romance Languages and Literatures, and vice dean for graduate education, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
Helene Grady, vice president for planning and budget
Nancy Griffin, associate dean for enrollment management and student affairs, School of Nursing
John Harrington, professorial lecturer and associate dean for academic affairs, Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies
Pamela Jeffries, professor, School of Nursing, and vice provost for digital initiatives
Caroline Laguerre-Brown, vice provost for institutional equity
Cathy Lebo, assistant provost for institutional research
Carolyn Machamer, professor, Cell Biology, and interim associate dean, graduate student affairs, School of Medicine
Peter Maloney (1941–2013), professor of physiology and associate dean, graduate student affairs, School of Medicine
Paul Mathews, associate dean for academic affairs, Peabody Conservatory
Joshua McIntosh, dean of academic services, Homewood Student Affairs
Matthew Roller, professor and language coordinator, Classics, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
Edward Scheinerman, professor, Applied Mathematics and Statistics, and vice dean for education, Whiting School of Engineering
Michael St. Germain, graduate student, Paul H. Nitze School for Advanced International Studies
Putarut Suntharanund, undergraduate student, Whiting School of Engineering
Toni Ungaretti, assistant professor and assistant dean for assessment, and director, Master of Education in the Health Professions, School of Education
James Yager, professor, Environmental Health Sciences, and senior associate dean for academic affairs (July 1, 2000–July 1, 2013), Bloomberg School of Public Health
Erin Yun, deputy to the vice provost for student affairs
Brenda Hedrick, staff to the committee, policy analyst, Office of the Provost